27 Şubat 2008 Çarşamba

Astrology Reading – Learn Basics of Astrology – Part II

Name of Planet-----------------------Time taken to move in a Sign or Rash

Sun--------------------------------------About 1 month
Moon------------------------------------2-1/4 days
Mars-------------------------------------45 days
Mercury----------------------------------About a month
Jupiter-----------------------------------A year
Venus------------------------------------A month
Saturn-----------------------------------2-1/4 years
Dragon's Head--------------------------1-1/2 years
Dragon's Tail----------------------------1-1/2 years

The Zodiac is an imaginary belt stretching about 9° north and 9° south of the eclipse within which the planets and the Moon remain in the course of their movement. In case of the Moon, the deviation from the ecliptic is about + 5°. This belt is divided into 12 equal parts each of 30° and each part is called a sign. According to the western system of Astrology, the first sign, i.e., Aries starts from the point of intersection of the ecliptic and the equator. There are 12 signs., in both the systems, the first being Aries, followed by Taurus. The twelfth sign of the Zodiac is Pisces.

Signs or Rashis

There are twelve signs in the Zodiac, namely, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Each of these signs has a stretch of 30° in the Zodiac.


The planets which, according to astrology, have the most powerful influence on the Earth are nine in number, namely, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. The last two are called the shadowy planets as they do not have physical or celestial bodies like the other planets. Of the two places where the moon crosses the ecliptic (that is, the path of the Sun), the north point is known as Rahu and the corresponding south point which is exactly 180° away from the former is called Ketu. In spite of the fact that they are not celestial bodies like other planets, they are very sensitive and effective points and it is on account of their powerful influence on the Earth, that our ancient savants of astrology have termed them as planets.

Movements and Motions of Planets

All the planets (Rahu and Ketu excepted) perform the double function of not only revolving on their own axes (from West to East), but also round the Sun. Saturn Is the most distant from the Earth. Jupiter, Mars, the Sun, Venus, Mercury and the Moon come next in order of their distance from the terrestrial globe. The velocity of each planet diminishes as its distance from the Earth increases.

While Rahu is associated with power and affluence, Ketu is considered more spiritual, helping the Hindus to develop their nobler and spiritual interests and to facilitate attainment of moksha or Salvation. The extra Saturnine planets, Uranus,Neptune and Pluto do not find much prominence in the Indian System though, of late, more and more Indian Astrolgers are blending the Eastern and Westems to derive the full benefits from the researches made by the Westerns Scholars.

The planets exercise their influence on the life on this planet, according to their placement, strength and dignity in the Zodiac at the time of birth.

Hiç yorum yok: